Articles

Review: She’s Dating the Gangster

In Fandom, Personal on September 5, 2014 by lexie-chan Tagged: , , , , ,

she's dating

“She’s Dating the Gangster” is a best-selling novel by Bianca Bernardino, originally published on Whattpad. Spawning immense popularity, it was later adapted into a movie as part of Star Cinema’s 20th year anniversary presentation, starring Daniel Padilla and Kathryn Bernardo.

The movie was released on July 16, 2014 and was later put up for an international screening in selected countries around the world.

STDG(lowres)

Before I begin my review, let me first establish the fact that I am someone who is pretty easy to amuse. In fact, I actually quite enjoy watching simple and fluffy movie over those heart wrenching and/or movies with complicated plot lines.

That’s why when I saw the trailer and found myself laughing and giggling with all the little scenes featured in the teaser, I knew that imma love it.

 

 

And god, did I love watching the movie!

As of the moment, I’ve seen the movie for about 4 times already and even after that, I still feel all tingly inside like it’s my first time. I do think this movie had a real impact. I’m not too sure how close it was tied up with the novel but the script writers did a great job writing the screenplay. The cast was perfection and the setting was both accurate and nostalgic that it just makes you squirm on your seat, smiling like a fucktard.

 

THE CAST

This is not my first KathNiel movie tho. I watched Must be… Love and even then, I thought that both Kathryn and Daniel displayed a certain chemistry viewers can easily adore. Although they’ve never really played an explicitly difficult role before, their acting ability in this movie was impeccable.

Here, I dare say they nailed each of their character well. There was personality and proper characterization that it was just so easy to love them all! My favorite scenes are those where the both of them acted together or when the two do couple stuff. It was just really fluffy and fun to watch! Not just for the two of them. All the other supporting actors and actresses were so likable as well. Everybody complimented each other. Even the introduction of each characters were done with ease. Nothing seemed to be out of place which is such a plus for this movie.

sdtgcastJUN26-940x280

 

THE PLOT

Of course the movie has a great ensemble. KathNiel is a pretty strong tandem and has already been a household name but then adding Richard Gomez and Dawn Zulueta? That’s just begging for the grand price, which in a way, the movie achieved at the time of it’s screening.

Now, I must really applaud the plot of the story.

I knew I was going to love the movie when I first saw the teaser (sorry, haven’t read the novel yet) but I didn’t expect myself to fall in love with it THIS MUCH. I was hooked! The first time I watched it, I was already impressed. But then I watched it a second, a third and a fourth time and I still had the same feeling towards it. I just loved everything about it. How they started with the movie in the present and then  skillfully added the “past” in between each scenes… you’ll find yourself loving the old and new couple in the series. It was… It was really good that I couldn’t even talk with my cousin coz I was too focused watching it.

Not just that, it has such a tight and exciting plot line to boot. Every scene transitioned well without it feeling rushed nor dragged. It’s was just so exciting to see what the next scene will be coz just like Kenneth (Daniel Padilla), I too was curious as to how Kenji and Athena’s love story would end.

I kid you not, I didn’t expect it to turn out that way and once again, I was just really so impressed by how they build this story to give us such a rich, vivid and heartwarming story. Ugh. Hand me the tissue ;A;

ShesDatingTheGangster1

 

THE FLUFF

The fluff is probably the best part about this movie. I wouldn’t say that it wasn’t cliché-ish, because it is, but JFC, the two executed it so naturally that you forget you’re watching a movie… that it was just acting.

I was so convinced and busy reacting to each fluffy scenes so well that I just–

I think I might have just converted myself as a KathNiel fan or something and omg… I honestly don’t need this right now but… The fluff in this whole movie is astounding and I’d watch it for that :3

It’s funny though that although Kathryn and Daniel was pretty much the whole focus of the show, I can’t help but feel so mushy inside with the little scene we get featuring Richard and Dawn. Ugh. Everything was so perfect…

 

Shes-Dating-the-Gangster-Casts

 

RATING

All in all, I’d give this movie a 5 star.

I’m sure everyone didn’t expect so much from this movie and I think that’s why it’s even more endearing when we found ourselves falling in love with it and each of the characters. I honestly can’t think of anything I did not like about this movie. It was both funny and heartfelt. It was a good mix of everything but at the same time retaining its original theme. I really recommend it and will continue to do so because each one of you deserve to remember your pure love (even if it may or may not have ended up on a good note).

 

Anyway, leaving you with the movie’s theme song.

 

 

(I know my review is quite everywhere. But it’s like 247am already. brain not functioning well. It’s all feels and I relied heavily on that. HAHA!)

3 Responses to “Review: She’s Dating the Gangster”

  1. I watched this in the theater with all my titas and it made me cry lol. But I think that BOTH Athenas being terminally ill was a little too melodramatic. I did like the movie though. Kathniel is actually one of my favorite pairings lol.

    • Haha! How dare you beat me to it! HOW DARE YOU! Lol! But hmm… Actually the two Athenas being terminally ill was a big surprise to me and the part I actually liked as a twist? Welp, I guess only because I can’t think about any other way how they are gonna justify Kenji’s ‘fork in the road’. Haha. KathNiel is an alright tandem. Liking James and Nadine, too :3

Leave a Reply

